Five Guys Burgers and Fries: Doing It Right


So, the other day I posted a Facebook status about Five Guys Burgers and Fries, and I thought I’d share it here and maybe even add some more thoughts.  It seemed to get a lot of comments pretty quickly.

Here it is:

I’ll tell you what, for all the customer service and food service that I do complain about… one place stands out as incredible. Every time I’m at a Five Guys Burgers and Fries no matter the location, they are fully staffed… everyone is doing a job & doing it quickly & efficiently with a rather pleasant look on their face. They communicate with each other quite well. The employees seem to be having fun while getting their job done, and they seem to take pride in what they do. I can only assume they pay much better than the average fast food joint, or just know how to delegate responsibilities evenly & know how to treat employees. I was in the one in Robinson when they got SLAMMED at lunch time today, and they put more people on registers, and worked down an ridiculously large amount of people in a short time. It helps that they only have burgers & the occasional hot dog as a menu item I’m sure, but it still is pretty impressive.

I'll tell you what, for all the customer service and food service that I do complain about... one place stands out as incredible. Every time I'm at a Five Guys Burgers and Fries no matter the location, they are fully staffed... everyone is doing a job & doing it quickly & efficiently with a rather pleasant look on their face. They communicate with each other quite well. The employees seem to be having fun while getting their job done, and they seem to take pride in what they do. I can only assume they pay much better than the average fast food joint, or just know how to delegate responsibilities evenly & know how to treat employees. I was in the one in Robinson when they got SLAMMED at lunch time today, and they put more people on registers, and worked down an ridiculously large amount of people in a short time. It helps that they only have burgers & the occasional hot dog as a menu item I'm sure, but it still is pretty impressive.

I’ll tell you what…

I should take a video of 10 minutes in a Five Guys and 10 minutes in this damn McDonald’s on West Liberty Ave. and compare how they’re run.  McDonald’s employees are slow, confused, careless, and sometimes even slovenly.  Five Guys employees seem to be the exact opposite on every front.

I’ve been to several locations, the Waterworks, Murrysville, Robinson, and Greensburg… and they’ve all been run with the same efficiency, pleasantness, and extreme cleanliness.  I just think it ought to be said that it’s noticed by the customers, and they need to keep doing what they’re doing.

Of course, I’m very aware of food allergies, and peanuts are a big thing at Five Guys.  This seems to get a bunch of flack, but they do take allergies seriously.  The peanut-allergic have to accept it just like I accept that being allergic to shellfish, I’m not going to get a safe meal at Red Lobster.  It’s OK.  There are many many places to dine & choices to make.  I’m glad that I have Five Guys as a choice.  I’ve heard that they are excellent in handling a dairy allergy.  Just check out the comments in the image above to the right.  I see the allergy warnings on the door as a very responsible thing to do.

Even after all that… the burgers are just absolutely delicious.  I tend to get a bacon cheeseburger with A1 and green peppers… sometimes even mushrooms.  The french fries are almost as awesome as Kennywood’s Potato Patch fries, and that’s hard to do.  The ingredients are always fresh, the burgers always cooked perfectly.  One of these days I want to try a hot dog… but I can never get past the burgers.  Maybe a little burger & a hot dog will have to do some day?  I don’t even know if I can handle that.  I’m glad I don’t live too close to one of these places, I’d be there way too often.

I hope to send a link to this to Five Guys, just to tell them that I appreciate what they’re doing, and to keep on doing it.  Customers can see and appreciate that the employees are enjoying what they do, and doing it well.  It does make a difference.

Five Guys Burgers and Fries on Urbanspoon Five Guys Burgers and Fries on Urbanspoon
Five Guys Burgers and Fries on Urbanspoon Five Guys Burgers and Fries on Urbanspoon

Related Articles

9 responses to “Five Guys Burgers and Fries: Doing It Right

  1. Five Guys is the church of ground beef. And the fries, with a little vinegar, oh the humanity.

    I gave in to the temptation of the hot dog. It is a good dog, but I wished I’d had the burger.

  2. Got this the other day…

    Name: Rich Joyce

    Email: _______@_______.___.___

    Message / Comment: I read your blog post on March 3, 2013 because my district manager, who is district manager for the store I run in Cortland, OH and the Robinson one you went too, sent us the customer comment you left.

    I was quite partial to the comment about you trying to get a hot dog. I was on my break the other day and did a little experimenting with my meal. Try a little bacon cheeseburger with a a cheese dog cut. Have the cheese dog cut in half and layer it; half a cheese dog, burger, other half of the cheese dog. Me and my crew seemed to really enjoy it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed your experience there. We love doing what we do and we always appreciate when people let us know how we are doing.

    How’d you find my blog?: Customer Compliment from 5 Guys district manager

    Time: Monday March 4, 2013
    IP Address: ###.###.###.##
    Contact Form URL: http://aixelsyd13.wordpress.com/contact/
    Sent by an unverified visitor to your site.

    So, I wrote back:

    From: me@my.email.address
    Sent: Monday, March 04, 2013
    To: Richard Bernard Joyce
    Subject: Re: W(aL)D Feedback

    Thanks for taking the time to drop me a line, Rich! I just thought I should share some positive comments instead of keeping them to myself. I don’t know why I found it fascinating how well everyone worked together, but I did.

    The hot dog burger thing sounds awesome. It may need a secret menu name, ha ha. Mind if I share this message in the comments on the blog post?

    Keep up the good work!

    -Eric

    And, we have a confirmation:

    From: Richard Joyce _______@________.___.___
    To: me@my.email.address
    Sent: Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    Subject: RE: W(aL)D Feedback

    I talked to some of my guys yesterday about how I replied to you and they were curious to see if you would respond too. Please drop it as “secret” menu item. People will love it. And go ahead and share my comment on the blog, I’d appreciate it. We always try hard.

    Rich

    So there it is. Continued proof of the awesomeness of Five Guys employees, and a solution to my hamburger/hot dog problem with a secret menu item. I might have to write back & ask him to name it… or maybe we can take suggestions in the comments?

    Dog Burger? Cheesedog Burger? Frankburger? The Rich?

  3. I don’t have a suggestion for a name,, but I would like to point out that I’ve been to the Cortland Ohio location, and had a great experience there (just like all the locations I’ve been to)

    • Small world! Ha ha. What else is there to do in Cortland, OH?

      Is that near the northern Ohio Amish Country?

      • It’s just a little town outside of Youngstown, near Warren. We go past there when visiting my mom (she lives in Jefferson OH, and Cortland is along the way between the turnpike/Youngstown and her house), and it’s good to be aware of the location of all Five Guys along your route whenever travelling :D

        • Neat! I’ve only been to Youngstown once… Bethany & I went to see Willie Nelson at the Covelli Center… if I remember that name right?

          I’ll have to see if I can get a GPS POI file for all the Five Guys locations… I have mine set to find all the Sheetz, GetGo, & Chick-fil-A locations… ha ha.

  4. What about calling the hot dog burger The Problem Solver?

    Not sure which to have? Have The Problem Solver.

    • That’s a really good suggestion! Hope the guy(s) from Five Guys check this out! It would be weird to go in & order the problem solver and create a problem…

Leave a Reply

