Molly Darling


"Mollie Darling" (Will S. Hays)  Evan Williams

“Mollie Darling” (Will S. Hays) Evan Williams

So, a while ago… after we decided to name the baby Molly Mae, Bethany’s uncle had remarked to her mom that their family had an old record called “Mollie Darling” for the Victrola… which is now in our living room.  Of course we had to check it out.  We have the version by Evan Williams.

Me being me, loving song histories and “cover” songs (like the origins of “Hey Joe”)…  This one is right up my alley.  It’s got a neat somewhat convoluted history, and probably more than a few have claimed ownership of it.  Google is pretty awesome, because within a few seconds I found some sheet music from 1871 in Temple University’s digital library, and a song history from Second Hand Songs.  I even found some easy-looking guitar tab.

It looks like it’s been recorded several times by a bunch of different artists.  The first one seems to be by the Haydn Quartet, but I can’t seem to find that version anywhere online.  I can’t find the version we have by Evan Williams online either.  The earliest one that I can find seems to be by Vernon Dalhart:

But, it’s out there several times, by several artists:

(A rockabilly one!)

(bagpipes!)

Mollie Darling - Sheet Music (Cover)

Mollie Darling – Sheet Music (Cover)

4 responses to “Molly Darling

  1. Love that Hank Snow album cover. You’ve done a lot of great research already, but in case you didn’t come across it via Google, the Library of Congress has some groovy sound recording and Americana files. I thought you might enjoy this: http://www.loc.gov/rr/record/onlinecollections.html

    Oh, and p.s., in my music circle of friends, Don Conoscenti and his song “Molly” are big favorites.

    • Hmm… I’ll have to check that out! Trying ot track down the Hadyn Quartet version… on vinyl or any other way I can get it. Ha ha.

      I’ll also have to Google Don Conoscenti and his song “Molly”… thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I LOVE IT! Would make a beautiful lullaby!!

Leave a Reply

