Sorry Baz…


Heh.  So I tweeted (to? at?) Sebastian Bach about his absence from the Slash album.  I had wondered about it in my review because I could swear that I’d read something indicating that Baz was going to have a guest spot.

All I said was this:

@sebastianbach I thought you were going to be on the @Slash album…? What happened?

The reply seemed a little angry:

@AiXeLsyD13 never said that ever

Seeing that my initial question could be read with a snotty inflection, I tried to quickly follow up with this:

@sebastianbach It was implied though, wasn’t it? Ha ha… or is something else in the works?

…and this:

@sebastianbach At any rate, I’d love to see a Slash/Baz effort somewhere someday.

Heh.  I didn’t want to come off as insulting, just really wanted to know what happened.  It was one of the things going into the album that I had been looking forward to.

I did some Googling, and I found this though…

From NME:

Sebastian Bach has revealed that Velvet Revolver guitarist Slash has contacted him about working on a ‘top secret project’ together.

The ex-Skid Row frontman denied rumours he’ll be taking Scott Weiland‘s place as the singer of Velvet Revolver, saying it would be “awkward” given his friendship with Slash‘s former Guns N’ Roses bandmate Axl Rose, who is no longer on good terms with the guitarist.

Bach told Billboard he’s been sworn to secrecy about the new project, but said it was “mind-blowing”.

From Billboard:

But he did confirm that VR guitarist Slash did contact him “out of the blue … to talk to me about working together, but it was not Velvet Revolver. It was a completely different project, and I can’t tell you what it is ’cause it’s mind-blowing, but I’ve been sworn to secrecy on that. But nothing’s happening right now with me and him.”

From A.V. Club:

In a typically breathless announcement, former Skid Row singer Sebastian Bach says guitarist Slash has contacted him “out of the blue” about a “top-secret job”–though despite rumors and all logic to the contrary, it was not to invite him to replace Scott Weiland as the frontman for Velvet Revolver. Such a move would be “awkward,” Bach says, considering his friendship with Slash’s estranged former partner Axl Rose. (Though, uh, apparently there’s a loophole that still allows him to be a part of whatever this mystery project is.) Practically begging you to care, Bach was not particularly forthcoming with details, saying only that he was “sworn to secrecy,” but did insist that, whatever it is, it’s “mind-blowing.”

And, even Slash’s Wikipedia page

Slash was quoted saying that the work alone in the studio on the solo album was “cathartic”, and that he really enjoyed working alone in the studio. He also said he plans to bring a different singer for each song on the album, and that he has a list of guests to appear on the album, and most of them are already committed, though he refused to tell who are those guests. Rumored singers for the project include Lenny Kravitz, Sebastian Bach, Alice Cooper, Vince Neil, and past Guns N’ Roses bandmates Izzy Stradlin and Duff McKagan.[22] According to Slash’s wife during an interview with Rockerrazzi.com, both Ozzy Osbourne and Fergie will make appearances on Slash’s upcoming solo album, saying, “It’s going to be Slash and friends, with everyone from Ozzy [Osbourne] to Fergie.”[23] Other musicians set to appear on the release include Josh Freese, Chris Chaney, Travis Barker, M. Shadows and Jason Bonham.[24]

I guess a lot of those names from the “rumored” list didn’t make the cut, or were just that — rumors from the start.  At least now I have validation that I didn’t dream the idea.  I mean, news came out that they would work together outside of a Velvet Revolver context, and soon after Slash started talking more heavily about his solo album…  What other conclusions are we to draw?

There is the possibility that it fell through due to scheduling, not having a great song lined up, or some ominous Axl-related conspiracy.

Maybe he was slated to tour with Slash’s in support of the disc instead of Myles Kennedy?

Or, there is the possibility that the rumored project is much more “mind blowing” than just a solo album and yet to happen. Perhaps it’s a concert?  Video?  Movie?  Super-group?  Book?  Collaboration?  Reality show?  Documentary?  Bach being instrumental in reuniting Axl, Slash, & the rest of GN’R?

Who knows?

At any rate, I didn’t mean to insult you, Mr. Bach.  I just wanted to know what was up.  I enjoy following you on Twitter, and I really dug Angel Down.  I also think that it’s awesome that you take the time to interact with & reply to fans, obviously being a rock n’ roll fanboy at heart yourself.

Leave a Reply

