Blowin’ in the wind.


If you live in the ‘Burgh, you know we got some serious storm winds & some damage on Friday afternoon.  The storm hit one of my favorite places to take photos, Dormont Park.  So, of course I got some pictures of some trees knocked over and a utility pole down.

To see the whole album, check it out in slideshow or grid form.  We were without power for about a day and a half… and no damage was done to our place, so it could have been a lot worse.  I just thought the twisted broken trees made for some good photo subjects.

I reported the downed utility pole to Duquesne Light on Saturday right after I saw it… went back to look around today, it was still down… no caution tape or anything up, so I called the Dormont police.  Hopefully they send someone in to clean up, there’s usually a decent amount of people in the park, hope no one would come across the stuff & get hurt.

Also, in the same set of photos… nothing really to do with the storm, we hit up Chick-fil-A for breakfast & the use of a power outlet to charge our phones on Saturday morning as our power was out, I happened to have my camera in the car… I saw some kind of hawk or falcon on a light pole near the Chick-fil-A in South Hills.  At first I thought it was an owl, upon a second glance I really wasn’t sure at all.

Anyone know what it is?

Some kind of bird of prey outside Chick-fil-A in the South Hills...

3 shots of the Chick-fil-A Bird...

3 responses to “Blowin’ in the wind.

  1. I was standing at the bus stop, waiting to get Lucas when this hit. It was nuts. I ended up running over to a funeral home and standing under the porch there. Stuff was just flying down the street and the rain was completely sideways.

    Like

    • Man, that’s nuts. I was at work when it blew through, sounded like a car crashed in to our large roll-up door here. The rain was coming in waves… it was quite spectacular form in the safety of the building. I can’t imagine standing out in it. What excellent timing…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Dormont-Brookline Patch | World (and Lunar) Domination

Leave a Reply

