Calvin and Hobbes


Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes has been popping up over & over on my radar lately.  It was such an incredible strip, and Bill Watterson was awesome for taking such control of his creation.  No Saturday morning cartoons ruining your interpretation of Hobbes, no live action travesties like the Garfield movies.  No licensing, no over-saturation, no Calvin air fresheners.  Just pure, simple, beautifully drawn comic panels with wisdom & wit out the wazoo.

Not that there haven’t been countless Calvin and Hobbes bootleg T-shirts, and the notorious “Calvin peeing” stickers that could express your distaste for anything from a car make to a political figure.  Bill Watterson encouraged me to look at both sides of every issue, taught me many things about friendships, and taught me all about artistic integrity.

Imagination is a powerful tool, and morbid snowmen are the funniest things ever.  I still need to get The Complete Calvin and Hobbes one of these days.

Here are some fun things I’ve found lately:

Originality

Calvin and Hobbes Snow Art Gallery

Snow Sharks

Calvin & Hobbes Snowman Cartoons

Townsfolk

Calvin and Hobbes | Snowmen

Shameless plugs notwithstanding, there’s also the AiXeLsyD song:

And, the “better” quality audio:

Calvin and Hobbes AiXeLsyD – “Calvin & Hobbes”

Please, share your favorite Calvin and Hobbes images, sites, memories, books, quotes, panels, strips, etc. in the comments below!

I’ll start a board on Pinterest.

8 responses to “Calvin and Hobbes

  1. There is a strip about Pittsburgh hanging in the gallery at the Toonseum. I’ve got a picture of it but I dunno how to add it here, so I’ll send it to you on Facebook and you can add it to your collection if you like.

    Like

  2. I do have that tattooed on my arm.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Goofy Search Terms | World (and Lunar) Domination

  4. The snowmen video had me chuckling to myself🙂 They were always one of my favourite parts of the winter-themed comics!

    Like

Leave a Reply

