Dear Mr. Rose,


Dear Mr. Rose,

Thanks for pissing on the remaining shreds of hope that I had that there could ever be an Appetite-era lineup reunion of the infamous Guns N’ Roses.  I wasn’t hoping for a world tour or anything.  Just a 1-time set at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame would have been gracious and exciting.

I watched as the band burned bright, then fell apart.  Illusions I & II are the sound of a band imploding, and Spaghetti Incident is the sound of a band phoning it in.  Chinese Democracy is the unsettling ranting of a lunatic.

I have read the biographies, and I have made a public plea for a reunionAppetite for Destruction floored me when I was a teenager.  The guitars were blaring and dancing around each other perfectly.  The drums made my heat beat faster.  The bass managed to weave it all together.  The vocals made me want to scream and yell.  Lies was absolutely brilliant.  The raw aggression of the earlier “live” tracks were the Guns, & the stripped down yet edgy acoustic tracks were the Roses.

You could have been a grown-ass-man, and set aside your ego, your demons, and whatever else is plaguing you.  You could have probably even gotten away with not showing up for rehearsal, sound check or even acknowledging the existence of the other guys off stage.  Everyone knows you’re supposedly some sort of “temperamental genius” by now, and would have let it slide.  I mean, you really never got much more than a monetary slap on the wrist for inciting multiple riots.  If you can get away with that, you can pretty much get away with anything.

It seems that you fear reuniting with the old lineup would invalidate the existence of the current lineup of Guns N’ Roses.  The only thing that invalidates the current lineup is one W. Axl Rose.  You have made it unequivocally clear that the founding members of the band who wrote the songs that you’re surely playing on tour & developed the sound that you try so hard to get away from are nothing but hired guns (pun intended) to your apparently infallible and virtually unreachable artistic vision.  Why should we put any stock in the revolving door of members that has been present since the departure of core members Duff & Slash?  Perhaps Izzy was the most intelligent of the bunch, getting out shortly after Adler was ousted.  Gilby Clarke sure was never given status as a full band member.  Even Buckethead was called out for his apparent inabilities to record or tour when he left the band.  It’s always someone else’s fault, isn’t it?  Does Dizzy Reed know any other words than “Yes, Axl”?  (Surely even you have to notice how terrible the piano sounds on live versions of “Patience” and “Paradise City“.)

By all accounts it’s Axl who was always late to the stage, Axl who left everyone hanging in Chicago, Axl & some guy that wasn’t even in the band that included a hidden Charles Manson cover on an album despite the rest of the band’s wishes, Axl who called in Paul Tobias without asking anyone else, Axl who demanded legal ownership of the band name at a time when it was impossible for the others to refuse (all aiming to keep the fans happy), Axl who put out no albums while former bands mates cranked out multiple albums from multiple projects, and Axl who consistently points out the shortcomings of his peers and former friends through some self-created veil of paranoia while never taking the time to analyze or even admit to his own self-destructive actions.

Thank you for destroying my favorite band.

I guess I do have to thank you for making sure that the last memory of my favorite lineup won’t be some half-hearted attempt at recapturing some inspirational spark or any multitude of possibly disappointing outcomes.

Former Fan,
-ERiC AiXeLsyD

Appetite for Destruction

Appetite for Destruction (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

15 responses to “Dear Mr. Rose,

  1. I’m sorry for your disappointment. (I mean that!)

    I’m not necessarily defending him, but I suspect that there’s more to the story that we will never know. Anyone who’s ever pissed off Irving Azoff has gone on to have the same reputation Axl has. I’m just sayin’.

    Peace out.

  2. As a fan of the original Guns N’Roses, I understand your disappointment, I truly do, but please don’t let some institution as shallow and meaningless as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame tarnish your feelings for Axl Rose or his current band. Everyone, including the people who nominate bands for the Rock Hall (whatever mysterious group that is) knew of Axl’s feelings on a reunion. He’s been clear on that issue. He has never wanted a reunion. You can hate him for that, but look at it this way..if you were a widely known vegetarian and someone invited you to a pig roast, and you declined, who would be the bad guy? There seems to be a misconception that the Rock Hall inducted Guns on behalf of their fans. They couldn’t care less about us. I just can’t seem to fault Axl on this one. There’s a lot of other stuff I can be pissed at him for, but not reuniting with a band he destroyed (and yes I believe HE destroyed it) isn’t one. His greatest sin was continuing to keep the name Guns N’ Roses in an effort to secure his solo career. That’s a whole other issue. Hell, there are dozens of issues. But at the end of the day, or at the end of the day on 4/14, we as fans of Appetite still have that record to listen to. We still have video recordings of the old days. We are still fans of Axl, Izzy, Duff, Slash and Steven. Call ‘em Olive Loaf for all I care. We still have the old stuff and we still have all their new stuff to look forward to.

    • “His greatest sin was continuing to keep the name Guns N’ Roses in an effort to secure his solo career. That’s a whole other issue.”

      You know what, you’re right. I can get behind that. I think that’s my biggest issue.

      Thanks for taking the time to read & comment!

  3. Its a good letter n I feel your pain. As another put it here tho Axle is at least staying true. The RRHOF is a blaring joke. I can still imagine a reunion, just not there. It sux a lot. HBO bought the rights to film/air this show. They gotta be chopping heads right now lol.

  4. So Axl Tweeted another letter, via TwitLonger:

    To: Cleveland, Ohio, Guns N’ Roses Fans and everyone who’s shown support for my decision regarding the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

    I seriously didn’t plan on or expect the overwhelmingly positive response and public support for my decision regarding the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. With such a generous outpouring of solidarity from fans, media outlets, writers and other artists, I’m truly humbled, blown away and unbelievably relieved! To be honest, I thought it would go the other way and was just hoping to weather the storm. As I said, I sincerely didn’t want to disappoint anyone. It gets old being the outlaw even if “it’s only rock and roll”.

    It took a lot of focus and soul searching to be sincere and informative while making a genuine effort to be somewhat diplomatic. We made, what I feel, are real efforts to learn about the Hall and the Board, spoke as I said with the president and various members, and though I inducted Elton John and Bernie Taupin in ’94 saying something to the effect of “I’m learning what the Hall’s about…”

    I still don’t exactly know or understand what the Hall is or how or why it makes money, where the money goes, who chooses the voters and why anyone or this board decides who, out of all the artists in the world that have contributed to this genre, officially “rock” enough to be in the Hall?

    This isn’t an attack. These are genuine issues I don’t have enough verified information on to have more than rough ideas. Certainly not enough information to make any judgments about.

    I would like to apologize to Cleveland, Ohio for not apologizing to them beforehand for not attending [the ceremony] in their city. I think they know how much I genuinely love performing there. Cleveland does in fact Rock!!

    Now that the smoke’s cleared a little, any desperate, misguided attacks have been just that, a pathetic stab at gossip, some lame vindictiveness, the usual entitlement crap, he’s obsessed, crazy, volatile, a hater. I once bought a homeless woman a slice of pizza who yelled at me she wanted soup. We got her the soup. You can get your own.

    Again: HUGE thanks to the fans and to everyone for the incredible public support. My congratulations to the other artists inducted. And my apologies to the city and people of Cleveland, Ohio. I hope you’ll forgive me and we hope to see you again soon!

    Keep Rockin’,

    Axl

    Unlike my open letter to the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, Guns N’ Roses Fans and Whom It May Concern this was written for GNR’s official website, Facebook account and my personal twitter account and not intended as a press release. If anyone does choose to pick this up as has been done previously I’d appreciate if you’d run in full including this paragraph so as not to give a partial picture, have things taken out of context or to imply or inadvertently give the impression this was intended for other outlets.

    Thanks in advance. Peace-

  5. Everyone’s writing letters, here’s one from Matt…

    http://www.pollstar.com/news_article.aspx?ID=801141

  6. Pingback: Youfest, Youapalooza, You’d Tour, or Youstock. | World (and Lunar) Domination

Leave a Reply

