How yinz make your chili? 🌶 [Chili à la AiXeLsyD “Recipes”] 🌶


Yinz like chili?  I do.  I haven’t made any for a long time.  I may need to change that.  I stole this (& modified it) from my never-used Cookpendium blog.  My writing has hopefully improved since then.  Maybe not.  I like a tamer chili that would appeal to a wide variety of people to add heat as they like.  I like it thick enough to make a spoon stand.  I can take or leave the beans, and I reject your debatable elitist visions of chili or what it ought to be.

I ought to try and make a new batch using only stuff I buy at Aldi.

How do you make yours?


[Originally from a post at (the now defunct) PittsburghBeat.com, here’s a few consolidated chili recipe/methods…]

Recipe 1:

I’ve never made chili before, and in researching, I came across 50 billion recipes. So, this morning I made my own in the crock pot…

  • 2 cans of condensed tomato soup
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 1 packet of chili mix
  • about ½ cup of water
  • 1 tsp. of beef bullion
  • 1 can light red kidney beans
  • however much ground meat was leftover from last night
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • a dash of cayenne pepper
  • a dash of paprika
  • a dash of garlic

…and I slapped it into the crock pot on low for 8 hours.

Hope it tastes good when I get home. I’ve got shredded cheddar cheese for the top of it, & Super-Pretzels to go along with it. They always served pretzels & chili in my elementary school cafeteria so they belong together in my warped mind.

Most of them use tomato paste, soup, sauce, juice, or diced tomatoes as a base… I even saw one that called for Spicy hot V8… and I think my mom always used soup. Tomato paste is usually bitter, so I figured the tomato soup would counteract it. All of the spices should be rockin’. I like my chili thick.

Oh yeah, about 1/2 the ground meat was cooked w/ some seasoning salt & A1.


Recipe 2:

Here’s what basically went into my chili. I’ll probably eventually make a blog about it with a narrative so I can remember what I did this time for next time… to see what I wanna change or what I wanna do again.

I ended up only using the one can of diced tomatoes (the one with jalapeños) and still kind’ve overflowed the pot by a small amount. So, next time I may cut out one can of tomato soup or a can of beans. Also, I want to try garbanzo beans in my next batch… and I’ve heard chocolate powder goes good in chili some times… so I wanna try that one day too.

I also tossed in 2 slices of Velveeta ripped apart, a dash of spicy brown mustard, and a drop or 2 of A1 Cracked Peppercorn Steak Sauce.

I think the meat that I used was too fatty or I didn’t drain enough fat (…even though I got a about ⅔ of a regular sized plastic cup full of fat out of it). I had to skim some excess grease off of the top when I popped it open this morning.

I’ll let you know the general consensus after it’s been consumed.

[Edit:  It was good.]


Recipe 3:

I must have pinned this at some point, too.  Someone re-pinned it here…

I think it was a joke about Pepto because this chili killed my guts, even served over mashed potatoes.


Share your chili recipes with me in the comment section below.  Don’t be a jag and sit on your secret ingredient(s).  Is it cocoa powder?  Chocolate bars?  Corn?  Zucchini?  Cinnamon?  Potatoes?  Steak?  Instant potato flakes?  Cornmeal?  Chupacabra?

How do you serve it?  In a bowl?  Over baked or mashed potatoes, rice,or spaghetti?  With soft pretzels or cornbread?  With tortilla chips or crackers?

How do you cook it?  Crock pot?  Dutch oven?  Stove top?  Over a campfire?

Do you like the Hormel canned stuff or the stuff from Wendy’s?  Who makes your favorite?

Spill it!

20 thoughts on “How yinz make your chili? 🌶 [Chili à la AiXeLsyD “Recipes”] 🌶

  1. Best chili ever…brace yourself this chili IS NOT SPICY to start with, but optional with Tabasco.
    Serves 10 generous portions-
    2lbs. Meat
    1 Large onion, medium chopped
    1 1/2 Green pepper, medium chopped
    1 Seeded and finely diced jalapeno pepper
    2 1/2 TBS. minced garlic
    1 small can of diced green chilies(drained)
    1 can of petite diced tomatoes
    2 cans of DARK red kidney beans-UN-DRAINED
    2 cans cannellini beans-UN-DRAINED
    Salt/pepper/oregano/chili powder/cumin/(to taste)
    1. Cook ground beef until no pink remains, drain and dump in crockpot.
    2. Saute` onion, green pepper, jalapeno pepper, and minced garlic until tender and slightly browned, dump in crockpot.
    3. Dump green chilies(drained), diced tomatoes, beans and seasonings in the crockpot.
    4. Cook on HIGH 2 hours-with lid on, AND 2 hours with lid off. (it’ll most likely be eaten before that because it will smell so amazing people can’t wait to try it.)
    5. Mix 4-5 tablespoons of cornstarch in with a little water and pour in crockpot-cook 15ish more minuets
    6. Eat the best chili ever made in the whole entire world.
    OPTIONAL- Serve with shredded cheese,sour cream, crackers, and Tabasco(for optional heat).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish there was a chili analogue I could eat without that pesky tomato allergen.

      Needs more habenero varieties: Ghost, Carolina, orange ones.

      And I like more pink in my meat.

      Cheese is never optional.

      Liked by 1 person

      • G Herbert-Have you ever tried Umeboshi paste as a tomato substitute? I like spicy but he said he was looking to appeal to a wide variety of people AND he has kids…meaning you can’t just throw habeneros or ghost peppers in your chili!!!! That is also why i put Tabasco sauce as an optional ingredient, to appeal to people who like their chili spicy. you could cook the meat a little less done then you want it, and then put it in right before serving…it might be a little more greasy than the original recipe would be. and I agree… cheese is never optional…unless your lactose intolerant.

        AiXeLsyD13- Sorry I didn’t comment about the kidney beans earlier for some reason I didn’t get the E-Mail saying there was a new comment…? But anyways, During the pressure-canning process beans undergo (they are fully cooked in the can), the toxin is deactivated. (Phytohaemagglutinin can be deactivated by boiling beans for ten minutes; the ten minutes at boiling point (100 °C (212 °F)). So as an answer, yes it is very safe. Cornstarch is science all by itself (insert endless science experiments and cool science facts)! But for this recipe, it is just a thickener.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

