The Square Guitar | My Galveston B.B. Stone


The square guitar.  People have gone out of their way to tell me how ugly it is at shows.  People have exclaimed their approval and asked where I got such a crazy instrument.  People have just shaken their heads in wonderment or disapproval, sometimes it’s hard to tell which is which.

Galveston B.B. Stone

ERiC AiXeLsyD's Galveston B.B. Stone

Many years ago now (2000 if the date on the photo below from the day I bought it is accurate), I saw it hanging on the wall in a venue where my old band used to play that also doubled as a music store.  I had to have it.  I don’t know why.  It was just absolutely goofy.  I had certainly never seen another one.  Would I again?  Probably not.  It had to be mine.  I ended up trading in a nice “Cimar by Ibanez” Fat-Strat style guitar that I had recently purchased from Music Go Round in Monroeville just to buy the thing.  I paid $75 for the Fat-Strat, and somehow got $125 off of the price of the square guitar in dealing for it.

Galveston - The day I bought it...

Girl? No, guitar! - 12/23/2000 - The Day I bought the Square guitar.

At first, I didn’t know anything about it other than it was a Galveston and it had a “Made in Korea” sticker on the back.  It took me a while to track down that it was a B.B. Stone model, and that there are only about 8 or 12 of the Galveston brand in the US.  B.B. Stone is apparently a Korean blues artist and guitar-builder, and he designed the guitar with Jerker Antoni of Sweden’s Eagle Instruments.  There are 24 pieces worldwide, the ones around the world are branded with the  groovy Eagle headstock.

I did have to replace the original pickups, as it didn’t quite have enough punch.  My friend and musical gear advisor (most likely to his dismay) Dave suggested & helped install some killer GFS pickups.  Now the sound is a little better, and it gives an aural kick in the ears to match the obvious kick in the eyes.

Dancing E.Sure, there are other square guitars… like Bo Diddley’s iconic square guitar, or the George Barris-designed Dragula by Hallmark.  This one is pretty simple though, and for better or worse, it’s become part of my rock n’ roll identity.

I have come across other owners, almost bought a black one a few years back, but didn’t have any extra cash at the time.  There are a few reviews up at Harmony Central.  I’d love to get a hold of the 23 or so other owners out there and get their thoughts on them.

21 thoughts on “The Square Guitar | My Galveston B.B. Stone

  1. Pingback: I want a Turner’s guitar… | World (and Lunar) Domination

  2. Pingback: My Guitars… | World (and Lunar) Domination

    • That’s awesome! Is it the Galveston headstock? What color?

      You don’t gig with it because of the oddity, or rarity, or you just don’t like how it sounds?

      I really appreciate that you took the time to comment. How’d you find this page?

      Like

      • It’s the Galveston headstock, black/ash. The stock pick ups arent very good so I originally intended to drop p-90s in it. Just never got around to it. I no longer play anymore so I decided to research it a little thinking I might should sell it. That’s how I found this page. Gotta love the internet!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: I find search terms rather amusing. | World (and Lunar) Domination

  4. Pingback: Guitar Searchers – Leave some comments! ==::: | World (and Lunar) Domination

  5. Pingback: Inspiration from Hoke·E·Geez (My new ‘New York Pro’ Strat copy) | World (and Lunar) Domination

  6. Pingback: The Mysterious Overseas Guitar Factories… | World (and Lunar) Domination

  7. Pingback: Help me win a Rock Solid guitar stand? | World (and Lunar) Domination

  8. Pingback: Balance ⊖⊘⊖ | World (and Lunar) Domination

  9. Pingback: Everything Changes but Guitars? I disagree. | World (and Lunar) Domination

  10. Hello I was one of the owners of Eagle Instruments AB Sweden. Jerker Antoni and I Orjan Jacobsson. This guitar was designed by Jerker that´s right. We made about 12-18 pcs of it under our brand Eagle. Since there are too many Eagle branded products out there we could not use that name in other countries than Sweden. Other companies like Galveston bought guitars under their own labels to sell. Some of them through Sam Ash under the brand Brownsville. Made by Un Sung in Inchon Korea.
    BB Stone is no blues guy from Korea. He was the salesman at Un Sung. Hes name was something like Dae Young Suk. That did not sound so good Jerker thought. He asked him to translate this korean name into English. He said it means “Big Brave Stone” Hence that: BB Stone. So Jerker named him that. Today he uses this on his buisness card. He has his own Company today and don´t work for Un Sung. Funny story isn´t it?

    Like

    • Incredible! Ha ha. That’s very cool. I bought the BB Stone many years ago and it started my obsession with weird guitars.

      So “BB Stone” is kind of like the hovering face of the Wizard in The Wizard of Oz? Ha ha.

      I really appreciate the real backstory and additional information. So B.B. Stones could be out there with Eagle, Galveston, or Brownsville headstocks?

      I have seen photos of the black/grey Galvestons and I’d love to get my hands on one some day.

      Is the total number in the wild still in the 24 or so range?

      “Big Brave Stone” would be a great name for a band, ha ha.

      Thank your for finding this, and taking the time to comment! How did you end up here at my blog?

      Like

  11. Pingback: An Interview With the Mad Mastermind Behind the Indy Custom FlyCaster | World (and Lunar) Domination

  12. Pingback: My guitars have been rated and roasted! 🔥🎸🔥 | World (and Lunar) Domination

  13. Pingback: The story of the Dewey Decibel FlipOut guitar. | World (and Lunar) Domination

Leave a comment