The Fort Pitt Friggin’ Bridge.


A quick look at Wikipedia shows that some guy in the late 1950s named George S. Richardson was actually a computer that designed the Fort Pitt Bridge. Well, maybe he used a computer. The Wikipedia article is surprisingly unclear.  It says that Richardson designed it, but it also says “It was the world’s first computer designed bowstring arch bridge.”

The bridge opened in 1959. It’s 2013. I’m not sure how many revisions (if any) have occurred since 1959. I get that in combination with the Fort Pitt Tunnel it’s quite popular, but certainly there should have been changes over the years. I haven’t checked census data, but it’s a safe bet that the region’s population & the number of people who own cars has risen quite dramatically since then.  I believe it’s time for an overhaul.

Did this ever make sense?

Did this ever make sense?  (From Bing)

The Fort Pitt Bridge - Chaos by Bing Maps

The green arrow shows where Jagoffs come from.

There are several problems, but the biggest one that drives me crazy is Yinzer drivers coming out of the city making their own lanes.  It’s bad enough that you have to sometimes cross 3 lanes in a short distance to make sure you’re in the correct lane to get where you’re going.  Check out the green arrow in the picture to the right.  This is the ramp coming from Liberty Ave. downtown.  Apparently during the afternoon commute out of the city, people coming up these two lanes decide to not merge into one lane as suggested by those funny little white dashed lines.  They also choose not to obey the only traffic sign on the bridge, a STOP sign.  Well, there’s 2 of them…  but both for the same lane.  These images from Google’s street view might show what I mean:

It’s pretty clear how one is supposed to merge in such a situation.  The STOP sign here is ridiculous.  It ought to be illegal to pull out from a full stop while traffic is whizzing by at a high speed.  It’s there nonetheless… and should be obeyed.  Like I said, there are many problems.  Let me get back to focusing on the crazy extra lane-making Yinzer drivers.  Look at this…

2 cars, 1 lane

2 cars, 1 lane

Those dingleberries are side-by-side in one lane.  So are these dingleberries behind them:

These guys are both dingleberries.

Following the lead…

Buses are the Devil.

Buses are the Devil.

Now, is this really helping the traffic situation?  No.  It does slow down everyone in my lane.  No one seems to want to stop, they pull out & to the left to go into the tunnel, or out & right to go to the West End.  I took those photos of these numb-nuts a while ago… but on a very special day a while ago, I saw a bus doing it.  Yes, a PAT bus was beside a car in a single lane, and trying to cut across into the lane to my right if I were to stay in the lane I was in & simply go forward.

Just typing all of this out & trying to explain it rationally hurts my head.  Why aren’t there cops there?  You could triple the city or count’s monthly revenue in about 2 hours at that spot.

Clearly something needs done at this intersection.  Traffic lights?  A camera that captures your license plate when you break a law or 10 merging lanes?  It’s absolutely ridiculous.  Who started this?  Obviously others have seen people get away with it, so they are trying it too.  What part of your brain rationalizes that this is somehow acceptable behavior?

Have you run into this insanity?  Please, share your hate for the Fort Pitt Bridge in the comments.

6 responses to “The Fort Pitt Friggin’ Bridge.

  1. There’s a stop sign? Wow new to me. No one ever stops. It’s all out war on that bridge.
    I nearly flew off the bridge into the river last night at almost midnight coming out of the tunnel, into the city. A car and a taxi decided to aggressively pull into my lane immediately off of the ramp at the same time, where the opening of the tunnel is and is a blind spot to see those drivers dumb enough to pull infront of the cars coming out at 60mph. There wasnt a car the entire length of the tunnel behind me, so they both could have easily and safely merged in behind me with turn signals they didn’t use. I swerved in and out of two lanes probably six times somehow without dying and took the sharp bend onto 376 almost overturning to avoided hitting them still. They decided, once cutting me off, to I’ve back over into their lanes when I was to avoided crashing into them, and then we tangoed like that the whole way. Asshole driving at its best.
    I have countless near-death, near-collision Pittsburgh driving stories just from that bridge.

    Ill share one more:
    Coming onto the bridge from Carson. A mini ban driver decided she (hate female drivers) wanted to make a second lane at the bottom of the ramp and almost side swipe me. Good thing I’m a very attentative driver, always watching my mirrors to see danger like that approaching. I was able to immediately move over and block her.

    Like

  2. Like

  3. WordPress needs to figure out how to import Facebook & Twitter comments relative to this blog: https://www.facebook.com/AiXeLsyD13/activity/10151280318878997

    Like

  4. Pingback: Someone did a crazy search for mazes… | World (and Lunar) Domination

Leave a Reply

